El Paso news station: Marijuana penalties in Texas could become more lenient
More than half of all Americans live in states that have recently changed their marijuana laws.
While 22 states including New Mexico allow the use of medical marijuana, Texas does not.
The Borderland is on two different pages when it comes to penalizing low-level drug offenders.
In New Mexico possessing an ounce of marijuana can land you 15 days in jail and a $100 fine. In Texas, that same crime can result in six months in jail and a $2,000 fine.
Borderland residents said jail time should be reserved for drug dealers.
Listen to our podcast at txcann.podomatic.com
Latest posts by Stephen Carter (see all)
- Central Texas Candidate for Congress Takes Bold Stance on Marijuana Policy - September 17, 2017