How to get life in prison for marijuana in Texas
Texas is a fairly free place to be. Much of the rules and regulations which people experience in other states don’t exist here. A friend who recently visited from New York even remarked as much. When it comes to cannabis though, freedom just doesn’t exist in the Lone Star State.
There are a wide variety of laws covering the possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana, along with others covering paraphernalia and even falsifying a drug test or possessing with intent to use any material for the falsification of a drug test, which can get you up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. You’ll also lose your driver’s license upon any sort of drug conviction, even if you were not driving at the time you were busted.
Mandatory minimums exist as well, ranging from 180 days to 10 years. There’s no rhyme or reason to the laws, and the sentence you’re handed when you get caught largely depends on whether you can cut a deal with the DA, and how your judge or jury is feeling that day.
When it comes to hash and other concentrates, Texas considers this to be in a category of their own. Furthermore, they’re not considered to be cannabis, even though they are derived strictly from cannabis.
You can also get life in prison, whether it be for possession, distribution, growing, or manufacturing as it pertains to hash and other concentrates.
So what does it take to get handed a life sentence, that being 99 years or more?
Casual consumers aren’t in danger of a hefty sentence in Texas, unlike those poor souls in Oklahoma. It takes possessing over 2,000 pounds to be eligible for a 99 year sentence. You will have to serve a minimum of 5 years for it though. Growing is considered as possession as well, with the net weight of all plants being factored in.
Selling marijuana on the other hand, it doesn’t require nearly as much. For having anything more than 50 pounds but less than 2,000, a person can expect to serve a minimum of 5 years, but can get 99. Anything over 2,000 is a minimum of 10 years.
Possession, manufacture, and distribution of hash and concentrates is another matter though.
Having more than 400 grams will get someone a minimum of 10 years, but can also draw that life sentence. For those wondering, there are 453.592 grams in a pound.
A pound of cannabis will get you 180 days to 2 years in jail, but a pound of hash will get you at least 10 years. Makes a lot of sense right? We didn’t think so either.
Manufacture and delivery of hash and concentrates are considered the same offense. As little as 4 grams can get you 5 to 99 years while more than 400 can get you 10 to life.
Even without legalizing marijuana, a great many can agree that our laws need to be changed to decrease the various penalties for possession. Several polls show as many as 58% support full legalization, 79% support removing jail time from sentences, and only 23% support keeping cannabis illegal in all forms.
There’s no justice in putting people in jail, especially for an extended period of time, for a non-toxic plant which is safer than any current legal drug.
Each marijuana arrest costs Texas approximately $10,000 , which includes prosecution and incarceration. In 2010, more than 78,000 marijuana-related arrests were made, and 97 percent of those were for possession only.
Check out the information below for the full run down on marijuana laws and penalties in Texas. Much thanks to NORML for putting this information together.
2 oz or less misdemeanor 180 days $ 2,000
2 – 4 oz misdemeanor 1 year $ 4,000
4 oz to 5 lbs felony 180 days* – 2 years $ 10,000
5 – 50 lbs felony 2* – 10 years $ 10,000
50 – 2000 lbs felony 2* – 20 years $ 10,000
More than 2000 lbs felony 5* – 99 years $ 50,000
7 g or less for no remuneration misdemeanor 180 days $ 2,000
7 g or less misdemeanor 1 year $ 4,000
7 g to 5 lbs felony 180 days* – 2 years $ 10,000
5 – 50 lbs felony 2* – 20 years $ 10,000
50 – 2000 lbs felony 5* – 99 years $ 10,000
More than 2000 lbs felony 10* – 99 years $ 100,000
To a minor felony 2* – 20 years $ 10,000
Hash & Concentrates
Possession of less than 1 g felony 180 days – 2 years $ 10,000
Possession of 1 – 4 g felony 2 – 10 years $ 10,000
Possession of 4 – 400 g felony 2 – 20 years $ 10,000
Possession of more than 400 g felony 10 years – life $ 50,000
Manufacture or delivery of less than 1 g felony 180 days – 2 years $ 10,000
Manufacture or delivery of 1 – 4 g felony 2 – 20 years $ 10,000
Manufacture or delivery of 4 – 400 g felony 5 – 99 years $ 10,000
Manufacture or delivery of more than 400 g felony 10 years – life $ 10,000
Possession of paraphernalia misdemeanor $ 500
Sale of paraphernalia (first offense) misdemeanor 1 year $ 4,000
Sale of paraphernalia (subsequent offense) felony 90 days* – 1 year $ 4,000
To a minor felony 180 days* – 2 years $ 10,000
By: Stephen Carter
Contact Stephen via email at TXCann@gmail.com
Latest posts by Stephen Carter (see all)
- Educational foundation for marijuana in Texas established - October 16, 2017