Texas police anxious to return marijuana to rightful owner
Police are anxious to return some marijuana to its rightful owner after someone noticed three baggies of cannabis near their home in Copperas Cove and alerted police about its presence.
The Copperas Cove Police Department posted a picture on their Facebook page of the marijuana, and urged the owner of the marijuana to contact the department so that it could be returned to them.
No word on whether or not anyone has called to claim their lost property. Recently the Rusk Police Department asked citizens to not settle for “second rate dope” and to turn in their “sub par drug dealers.”
Possession of marijuana under two ounces in Texas is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
A bill has been filed in the Texas legislature which would decrease the penalty for possession of less than an ounce of marijuana to a $100 fine with no jail time.
HB 507 which was introduced by Rep. Joe Moody of El Paso, was recently referred to the Criminal Jurisprudence Committee.
Email us at Contact@txcann.com
Latest posts by Stephen Carter (see all)
- Central Texas Candidate for Congress Takes Bold Stance on Marijuana Policy - September 17, 2017